Antalya Film Fest announces full line up and juries for upcoming 59th edition

This year's line up includes a healthy mix of Arab, Iranian and international titles, with of course Turkish cinema taking centerstage at the event, vying for the three national competition prizes.
Antalya Film Fest announces full line up and juries for upcoming 59th edition

The Antalya Golden Orange Film Festival has announced both the line up and their juries participating in the 59th edition of the festival. Antalya is a resort town on the southern coast of Turkiye, as the country has recently rebranded itself, and the festival is a yearly much anticipated event. Inaugurated in 1964 by Dr. Avni Tolunay, the Antalya Golden Orange Film Festival has evolved over the years into the beating heart of Turkish cinema.

The festival also boasts an industry event, the Antalya Film Forum which has helped to transform Antalya into a hub of the national film industry, providing support to a large numbers of young and independent filmmakers. The Forum event is comprised of four different platforms: Fiction Pitching, Fiction Work in Progress, Documentary Work in Progress and the Sümer Tilmaç Antalya Film Support Fund. The Antalya Film Forum has played a key role in the production journey and creation of many Turkish films, including national and international festival award-winners.

The festival, under the artistic direction of Başak Emre, is organized by the Antalya Foundation for Culture and Arts (Antalya Kültür Sanat Vakfı, AKSAV) and gives out a variety of awards, the Golden Orange, in four film categories -- International Competition Feature Film, National Feature Film, National Documentary Film, and National Short Film.

There will also be fascinating talks and discussions featured as part of the industry program within the Antalya Film Forum, which will include one on "How to finance a film" mentioned on their Twitter platform:

The International Feature Competition selection is comprised of the following titles:

The Sixth Child by Léopold Legrand

The Beasts by Rodrigo Sorogoyen

Bread and Salt by Damian Kocur

My Love Affair with Marriage by Signe Baumane

Men of Deeds by Paul Negoescu's

Dustland by Kazem Daneshi

Queens by Yasmine Benkiran

Quiet Girl by Colm Bairéad

Valeria Is Getting Married by Michal Vinik

The Visitor by Martín Boulocq

The International Competition Jury features Romanian actress Anamaria Marinca, French-American actor Jean-Marc Barr, Russian-born film curator and critic Nikolaj Nikitin, Arte France director Olivier Père, and Icelandic director and screenwriter Valdimar Jóhannsson.

The National Feature Competition is made up of the following titles:

Mirror, Mirror (Ayna Ayna) by Belmin Söylemez

A Hope (Bir Umut) by Ümit Köreken

Hollow (Bomboş) by Onur Ünlü

A Woman Escapes (Gidiş O Gidiş) by Burak Çevik, Sofia Bohdanowicz, Blake Williams

Hara by Atalay Taşdiken

Iguana Tokyo by Kaan Müjdeci

Snow and the Bear (Kar ve Ayı) by Selcen Ergun

Black Night (Karanlık Gece) by Özcan Alper

Burning Days (Kurak Günler) by Emin Alper

RSVP (Please Respond) (LCV [Lütfen Cevap Veriniz]) by İsmail Kurtuluş, Kaan Arıcı

The National Feature Film Competition Jury features as President the screenwriter-director-producer Yeşim Ustaoğlu, and she is joined by actor-director Ahmet Mümtaz Taylan, the screenwriter-director Azra Deniz Okyay, musician Harun Tekin, poet Haydar Ergülen, actress Nurgül Yeşilçay and cinematographer Uğur İçbak.

The National Documentary Competition line up features the following titles:

3 Cents Soldier by Mümin Barış

Drifting by Somnur Vardar

Duet by Ekin İlkbağ & idil Akkuş

What’s the Name of the Film? by Pınar Fontini

Hatice by Murat Erün

The Miss by Mert Erez

KAF KAF by Metin Dağ

Who Is Mihri by Berna Gençalp

White Collar Peasants by Hazar Uyar

A Strange Sight to Behold: The Van Lake Monster by Behçet Güleryüz

The Jury for the above selection includes the director-screenwriter Ceylan Özgün Özçelik, documentary director Elif Ergezen and documentary filmmaker Hilmi Etikan.

And last but not least, the National Short Film Competition includes the following titles:

The Banishment by Yılmaz Özdil

You All & I Alone by Barış Kefeli & Nükhet Taneri

Together, Alone by Kasım Ördek

Not Today by Yağmur Mısırlıoğlu

Hell Is Empty, All the Devils Are Here by Özgürcan Uzunyaşa

Stormers by Esme Madra

The Sheep by Benhür Bolhava

Tower by Emre Birişmen

The Moisture by Turan Haste

The Syrian Cosmonaut by Charles Emir Richards

The Girl Who Plays with Mud by Deniz Telek

One Way by R. Hakan Arslan & Kerem Yükseloğlu

With the Shorts jury being made up of actress Ezgi Mola, film critic-screenwriter-director Melikşah Altuntaş and director-screenwriter Nazlı Elif Durlu.

For more information, check out the Antalya Golden Orange Film Festival website.

You may also like