Asghar Farhadi to preside over Zurich Film Festival jury

The Iranian helmer will be joined by Swiss director Petra Volpe and producer Daniel Dreifuss.
Asghar Farhadi to preside over Zurich Film Festival jury

Fresh from his duties as Jury President in Cannes earlier this year, Asghar Farhadi has been named President of the International Feature Film Competition at this year’s Zurich Film Festival. He will be joined by Swiss director and screenwriter Petra Biondina Volpe (The Divine Order, Dreamland) and producer Daniel Marc Dreifuss (Sergio, Guernica and All Quiet on the Western Front).

Other juries in Zurich this year include producer Christine Vachon (Boys Don’t Cry) who will head the festival’s Focus Competition sidebar. The jury will also be comprised of Swiss filmmaker director Fred Baillif (The Fam), Austrian filmmaker Katharina Mückstein (L’animale), editor Maria Fantastica Valmori (Once More Unto the Breach), and Swiss journalist Roger Schawinski.

The Zurich Film Festival's Documentary Film Competition will be headed by Alexander Nanau, and the German-Romanian filmmaker will be joined by Macedonian Academy Award nominated producer Atanas Georgiev, Swiss producer Joelle Bertossa (A Skin So Soft), the Czech producer Nina Numankadić who is also the director of VOD portal Doc Alliance Films, and Indian documentarian Sushmit Ghosh (Writing with Fire).

Each jury will present one of the festival’s prestigious Golden Eye awards to the winning films in their categories. The award comes with a CHF 25,000 cash prize.

Zurich Film Festival runs from September 22-October 2.

You may also like